news, features, articles and disease information for the crop industry


Australian Minister Appoints Wheat Industry Taskforce

04 February 2013

AUSTRALIA - Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Senator Joe Ludwig, has announced the appointment of the members of the Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce and the Taskforce Terms of Reference.

The Wheat Industry Advisory Taskforce, charged with assisting industry to identify areas of inefficiency in the wheat market, is part of the Wheat Export Marketing Amendment Act 2012, passed by Parliament late last year.

“The Taskforce represents an opportunity to give some clarity to a range of issues that have been raised by the wheat industry over the last decade,” Minister Ludwig said.

“The Taskforce will examine issues across the supply chain, including industry—good functions and provide recommendations to improve the efficiency and profitability of the industry outside of regulation.

“I would like to thank the selection committee, including independent chair Mr Bob Granger, for providing quality candidates with a broad range of relevant skills and experience to lead this important process.”

Minister Ludwig announced Dr Michele Allan as chair of the taskforce, along with members Mr Mark Barber, Mr David Fulwood, Mr Imre Mencshelyi, Mr Mitch Morison, Ms Rebecca Reardon and Mr Graham Shields.

“Each member of the taskforce is very experienced and committed to their new role of moving the industry forward,” Minister Ludwig said.

The Taskforce will be developing a forward work plan as a critical first step and will involve considerable consultation with all participants in the wheat industry.

“Industry is a key driver in this process, and I encourage all interested stakeholders to engage with the taskforce as it addresses its terms of reference,” Minister Ludwig said.

TheCropSite News Desk

Our Sponsors