What Is Farro? The Nutty, Gluten-Free Grain You Should Add To Your Diet!

What Is Farro Is Farro Gluten-free

Most health freak people prefer gluten-free foods, intending to remain healthy, but scientific research does not prove that gluten-free grains or foods have any impact on the human body unless a person is suffering from celiac disease. 

In the same line, the heated debate of gluten-free grain started, and this time, it’s Farro on the list. People in Western countries mostly prefer this grain and are in a dilemma as to whether this grain is gluten-free or not. Here, you will get comprehensive information on Farro and its link with gluten.

A Glimpse Of Farro

Farro is not just a word reflecting one of the types of wheat, as it is one of the ancient grains that are in use in the modern day. In a broader sense, Farro is an Italian word given to the species of wheat, including Eincorn, Spelt, and Emmer. However, this type of wheat is not like the ordinary modern wheat that we use. 

Farro

We know that modern wheat, which we are consuming is hybrid in forms that are rich in gluten and are not favorable for people going through celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. So, if you are still thinking about whether Farro is gluten-free or not, then let’s dig out the answer to this burning question.

Is Farro Gluten-Free?

Now, it’s clear that Farro comes from the family of wheat, and we know that wheat contains gluten, a kind of protein. So, Farro is not gluten-free, and if you are suffering from celiac disease, then you must keep some distance from Farro or other cereals containing gluten. This type of protein is naturally found in wheat, barley, and rye.

Why Farro Is So Popular Among People?

Most people prefer Farro because it is one of the oldest grains, and they think consuming such grain will be good for their body. Well, the assumption is true because Farro is rich in vitamins, minerals, and fiber. Now, let’s see some quick benefits of Farro and why it should be added to a diet chart. But if you are suffering from celiac disease or allergic to gluten, then don’t consume Farro.

Farro Is Rich In Vitamins & Minerals

As stated earlier, Farro represents the species of wheat comprising Emmer, Einkorn, and Spelt. Emmer is rich in nutrients, including Vitamin B3, Zinc, Magnesium, and Iron. In addition, it also contains antioxidants, which reduce inflammation and are good for reducing weight.

Abundance Of Protein

The presence of protein is very important in the human body as it helps in repairing bones and muscles, pushes the metabolism reaction, and maintains the pH level in the human body. Farro is rich in protein, and the consumption of the same will keep you healthy and will reduce your body weight, too.

Keep Sugar-Level Stable

Diabetic patients are advised to maintain their sugar levels, and for that, they have to follow a strict diet. But, if you don’t want to fall on such a list, then instead of consuming food that increases sugar levels, you must prefer Farro as it has a low glycerine index compared to carbohydrates. Moreover, Emmer Farro helps in reducing the sugar level because of the presence of antihyperglycemic features. 

Good For Heart

In the fast pace of life, people are ignoring their health, and because of that, they are surrounded by various diseases, including cardiovascular. So, to keep the heart healthy, it is recommended to stay away from foods that produce cholesterol. Farro is rich in fiber, and the same helps to reduce cholesterol levels and keep your heart healthy.

Why There Is A Confusion About Farro A Gluten-Free?

If there is a cloud of smoke, then fire must have taken place, and with Farro, this line perfectly suits. If you visit the Gourmet and food store, then you will find there is no label on the Farro describing the same as a member of the wheat family. Due to this ignorance from the shopkeeper, the people suffering from celiac disease come under the danger zone.

In addition, the appearance of Farro is like brown rice, which creates confusion among people, whether it’s rice or wheat. So, mislabelling is the result of this heated debate that made people judge Farro whether it is gluten-free or not. 

Leave a Comment